Navratri 2022: Know Navratri date calendar and Durga Puja date - News 360 Tv

Navratri 2022: Know Navratri date calendar and Durga Puja date

The first day of the shardiya Navratri in this year will be September 26, 2022.

 Durga Puja and Dussehra are observed at the conclusion of these nine days. Shardiya Navratri starts on the Pratipada date of the Shukla Paksha of the month of Ashwin, according to the Hindu calendar.

Durga Puja 2022: Dates

The final day of Navaratri is when Durga Puja is celebrated. The idol of Maa Durga is submerged into rivers or other bodies of water to show her respect and devotion, and the festival lasts from Shasthi until Dashami.

 Durga Puja 2022: will take place from October 1 through October 5, this year.

 Mahalaya 2022: will be observed on October 14th of that year. This is a significant Durga Puja occasion when devotees invite Goddess Durga to the planet and draw eyes on her idol.

Navratri 2022: Date Calendar:

Navratri 2022 Day 1 (Sept 26): The Goddess Shailputri is worshipped

Navratri 2022 Day 2 (Sept 27): The Goddess Brahmacharini Devi is worshipped

Navratri 2022 Day 3 (Sept 28): The Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped

Navratri 2022 Day 4 (Sept 29): The Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped

Navratri 2022 Day 5 (Sept 30): The Goddess Skandamata is worshipped

Navratri 2022 Day 6 (Oct 1): The Goddess Katyayani is worshipped

Navratri 2022 Day 7 (Oct 2): The Goddess Kalratri is worshipped

Navratri 2022 Day 8 (Oct 3): The Goddess Mahagauri is worshipped as Durga Ashtami is celebrated. 

Navratri 2022 Day 9 (Oct 4): When the fast is broken and Goddess Siddhidhatri is worshipped, this day is known as Maha Navami.

Navratri 2022 Day 10 (Oct 5): Goddess Durga idols are immersed in water. Dussehra is celebrated. 

Navratri 2022: What are the nine forms of Maa Durga and the special prasad offered to them

 Celebrated in different ways by different communities, Navratri is a major Hindu festival that is celebrated throughout India twice a year. Named after the Hindi season it is celebrated in, the two Navratris are known as Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri. Breaking it up etymologically as nav meaning nine and ratri meaning night, it is the festival of nine nights which is followed by dashmi, the tenth day, popularly known as Dusshera in the Sharad Navratri cycle.

During Navratri, devotees worship the nine forms of Goddess Durga, who was an incarnation of Goddess Parvati. Goddess Parvati wanted to kill the notorious demon Mahishasura, for which she had to take the form of the fierce Durga. Devotees pay their respects during the nine nights by fasting and offering special Prasad for each form, according to its significance in human life. Let us have a look at all of these nine forms:


With trishul in one hand and a lotus in the other she rides a bull called Nandi. Goddess Parvati is the daughter of Shail or the mountain (Himalaya) and is therefore known by this name. Offering: Devotees offer pure ghee to Goddess Shailputri for a disease-free life.


When an unmarried Goddess Parvati decided to meditate in order to please Lord Shiva, she was known by this name which means celibate or unmarried. Goddess Brahmcharini walks barefeet, with a rudraksh mala in hand.

Offering: Sugar is offered to Goddess Brahmcharini for longevity.


The third form of Goddess Durga, Chandraghanta is the ten-armed goddess who gets her name from the crescent-shaped moon that adorns her forehead. She rides on a tiger to annihilate evil.

Offering: Kheer is considered as an auspicious offering for the Goddess in order to get rid of all pains.


Breaking up her name into three parts, i.e. small/little, warmth and eggs; this form of Goddess Parvati is considered to be the creator of the universe and is revered on the fourth day of navratri.

Offering: Devotees offer malpua to Goddess Kushmanda, who blesses them with a sound intellect and good decision making in return.


The fifth form of Goddess Parvati and hence also known as Panchami, Skandmata has four arms and carries a bell in one hand, a kamandalu in the other and a lotus in the other two. She is also seen with Lord Kartikay on her lap and is therefore called the mother of Skanda, another name for the Lord.

Offering: Her favourite fruit banana is offered to Skandmata as Prasad.


Another form of Shakti, Goddess Katyayani is the sixth and the fiercest form of Goddess Parvati and carries a sword in one of her four arms. She rides a lion and is called the warrior Goddess. Daughter of priest Katyayan, she gets her name from her father.

Offering: Honey is considered to be the best offering for Goddess Katyayani.


She gave up her natural complexion and took up a darker skin tone to kill demons. Riding a donkey with a noose, trident and sword in three of her four arms, she is believed to contain the universe in her third eye which is placed in her forehead.

Offering: Devotees offer jiggery to Goddess Kaalratri on the seventh day of the navratri to get rid of obstacles, pain and suffering.


The eighth day of navratri is dedicated to Goddess Mahagauri, who rides a bull or a white elephant and holds a trishul and a damru in her hands.

Offering: Devotees offer coconut to Goddess Mahagauri.


Worshipped on the last day of the nine day long festival, Goddess Siddhidatri is believed to represent perfection. She sits on a lotus and holds one in her hand as well in addition to a mace, a discus and a book.

Offering: Sesame seeds for safety, security and protection from unnatural events are offered to Goddess Siddhidatri by devotees on the final day of the nine-day long festival.

Previous article
Next article

Leave Comments

Articles Ads

Articles Ads 1

Articles Ads 2

Advertisement Ads